Thank you for your patience while we retrieve your images.
Visitors 20
Modified 2-Aug-23
Created 23-Feb-13
33 photos

Tokyo (東京 Tōkyō, "Eastern Capital"), officially Tokyo Metropolis (東京都 Tōkyō-to) is one of the 47 prefectures of Japan, and is both the capital and most populous city of Japan. It is the seat of the Emperor of Japan and the Japanese government. Tokyo is in the Kantō region on the southeastern side of the main island Honshu and includes the Izu Islands and Ogasawara Islands. Formerly known as Edo, it has been the de-facto seat of government since 1603 when Shogun Tokugawa Ieyasu made the city his headquarters. It officially became the capital after Emperor Meiji moved his seat to the city from the old capital of Kyoto in 1868; at that time Edo was renamed Tokyo. Tokyo Metropolis was formed in 1943 from the merger of the former Tokyo Prefecture (東京府 Tōkyō-fu) and the city of Tokyo (東京市 Tōkyō-shi).
Tokyo Train StationTokyo Train StationTokyo Train StationNijubashiTokyo | Imperial PalaceTokyo | Imperial PalaceTokyo | Kan'ei-ji CemeteryTokyo | Pagoda at Senso-jiSensō-ji (Asakusa)Pagoda near the Hōzōmon (Asakusa)Tokyo | Pagoda at Senso-jiTokyo | Pagoda at Senso-jiTokyo | UenoTokyo | UenoTokyo | Senso-jiPrayer, Pleads & OfferingsTokyo | Kan'ei-ji CemeteryTokyo | Kan'ei-ji CemeteryTokyo | Senso-jiTokyo | Shrine at Senso-ji